Property (real estate) tax

Responsible department: Bratislava City Magistracy, Department of local taxes, fees and licences

Real estate tax is paid annually by the owner of the real estate. Paid tax amount does not reflect real estate market value, but its size in square meters and related tax rate (mostly depending on use and location). Local self-government has in the field of real estate property powers of tax office. It is not surprising that real estate property taxes are among highest in Bratislava comparing to the rest of Slovakia. Nevertheless, city quarter Bratislava-Rača is located in second tax rate zone (with more moderate tax rate comparing to central city quarter Staré Mesto). City quarter Bratislava-Rača obtain about 5% of total real estate tax yield in Bratislava (respecting valid distribution rules).

Tax declaration concerning new real estate property must be submitted to tax administrator (Bratislava City Magistracy) up to 31st January following year when new property had been acquired (or in a case of any change - changed in use e.g. form residential to commercial, change in size etc). If there are no changes in real estate ownership you do not need to submit real estate tax declaration in the following years. Real estate property will be taxed according to previous tax declaration. Calculation of payable tax amount is responsibility of local self-government. Real estate owner is informed about this sum in letter, stating also possible form of payment (bank voucher, bank account number, cash at local self-government cash desk, time for payment etc.).

You can contact your tax administrator (mail, telephone) by your surname:

For more details concerning local taxes and fees administered by City Magistracy see or visit:

Bratislava City Magistracy (Magistrát hlavného mesta SR Bratislavy)
Department of local taxes, fees, and licences (Oddelenie miestnych daní, poplatkov a licencií)
Blagoevova ulica č. 9
P.O.BOX 76
850 05 Bratislava 55
Office hours:
Monday: 8:00 - 12:00, 12:30 - 17:00
Wednesday:  8:00 - 12:00, 12:30 - 17:00
Registry Office:
Monday: 8:00 - 12:00, 12:30 - 17:00
Tuesday: 8:00 - 12:00, 12:30 - 16:00
Wednesday: 8:00 - 12:00, 12:30 - 17:00
Thursday: 8:00 - 12:00, 12:30 - 16:00
Friday: 8:00 - 12:00, 12:30 - 14:00
Cash desk opening hours:
Monday: 8:00 - 12:00, 12:30 - 16:30
Tuesday: 8:00 - 12:00, 12:30 - 15:30
Wednesday: 8:00 - 12:00, 12:30 - 16:30
Thursday: 8:00 - 12:00, 12:30 - 15:30
Friday: 8:00 - 12:00, 12:30 - 13:30